Let Us Be Saints!
 
Praise God!!  We arrived in Rome safe and sound yesterday afternoon!! 

I met a wonderful fellow from Kuwait on my flight to New York, who was studying aviation at UND in Grand Forks.  Unfortunately he didn't dig the cold very much and now despises the color white because it reminds him of all the snow, but he is going to give the United States another chance by trying out Florida.  I think that will be more like the climate he is used to!  He told me that he is a captain in the Kuwait military and showed me how to write his name in Arabic.  Cool stuff! 

It was fun to be in NYC for a few hours, though it was late and dark out and we didn't see too much.  But the song from Annie was inevitably going through my head that whole time!  Then we were off on our 7.5 hour flight to Europe, via the Italian airline, Alitalia.  I got some reading done (yes, we have homework already!), ate dinner at 11:30 at night, took a good nap (I had no one sitting next to me so I could sprawl out like a bed!), and brushed up on my Italian a little bit.  I also got my first chance speaking it, when I ordered my acqua (water) or my suco (juice) from the flight attendant!  :-)  Before I knew it we were landing in Rome, where we were greeted with 60 degree weather!  No joke!!  We're not in Minnesota anymore!! 

I have so much more to say about our first couple days of orientation and the beautiful Bernardi campus, but have to go for now.  THANK YOU for all your prayers...know that all is well here!!  God is so GOOD!! 
Megan Menke
2/6/2011 01:52:32 am

Yay!! I'm happy to hear that you made it there safe and sound! Have fun girl! I love you so much and miss you already!

Reply
Lizzy
2/6/2011 10:49:24 am

YAY Paula!!! :D

Reply
Lisa
2/7/2011 04:09:36 am

I'm so excited for you, Paula. I love your blog all ready (esp. the home page, I learned so much from it!). I miss you, but He's spanning the gap. <3

Reply
2/8/2011 12:44:00 am

Hey Paula! Meeting random people on planes is the best...I think FL will be a much better place for him to be. I can't wait to keep up with you via your blog this semester. May Our Lord bless your time in Rome immensely. Visit my blog over at blogspot: http://rushhourvirtues.blogspot.com. I started it back as a freshman, and am getting back into the groove now this semester. :-) Talk to you later!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.